Ornaments

IMG_2782-001

“…so that in everything they may adorn  the doctrine of God our Savior.”

 Titus 2:10

Referring to slaves and their relationships to their masters, St. Paul says they are to show “entire and true fidelity” and basically be like an ornament on their master.  The master is the tree and they are the ornament.  I was struck by these words this morning and the image of Christ as the tree of life, my Master.  I so desire with all my heart to be entirely faithful to the Truth; an ornament that simply makes the Tree look beautiful.

 May my life adorn the doctrine of God our Savior today and everyday.

IMG_2934-001

For the first time we have a Christmas tree standing in our living room with lights only.  It is very, very tall and has lights all over it and is beautiful, but no ornaments.  I wish I could say it was a decision to decorate simply, but it is really just because we have been so, so busy this week.  My goal is to decorate it this weekend and make the Christmas cookies my boys have been craving.  Seeing it each day reminds me to be at peace, to not fret about what I cannot change, and to stay calm for goodness sake.  It’s working.

Blessed Advent season to you all.

“The Lord Jesus Christ…who for us men and for our salvation came down from heaven and was incarnate of the Holy Spirit and the Virgin Mary, and became man.”

3 thoughts on “Ornaments

  1. I love both the wooden ornament and the sweet Nativity!!! I have had to wait a few days after getting lights on to decorate, too. I actually like the tree with just lots of lights. :-) I hadn’t made the connection about the ornament to the Master before. Thanks for sharing. Love your posts! Have fun baking and decorating this weekend!

Write something to me in this box!

